college, musings

It’s Alright if You Don’t Have Your Shit Together

If you’re sensitive to sensitive language, I apologize for my title. However in this situation I chose to be blunt for a reason.

Anyway, as college and graduation rapidly approach, I constantly find myself observing the frantic and anxious behavior of my peers. I completely understand the uncertainty, the fear or the anxiety that impending adulthood may cause but I do believe that we spend too much of our time worrying it. Maybe it’s a learned behavior or maybe it is just something with my personality, but in times of distress, I just don’t. Stress, that is. And why should I? I mean I understand that I am being forced to map out my life at the very young age of 18 and that yes, my decisions now will impact my future, but-no, I refuse to stress out over these things. (Maybe I should though?)

Over the past year or so I’ve grown up a lot. Mentally, physically everything. One of the most important things being a new sense of, I guess you could say freedom, that I have when approaching life and everything it throws at as. Let me elucidate this for you; unless it is a life or death situation or something that will permanently and negatively affect my life, I do not give it much thought. I just choose not to stress over it. This includes tests given by teachers, disagreements with people at school or awkward situations that occur all too often considering who I am. Unnecessary worry has caused me a lot of issues in the past, so I’ve just decided to not be fazed by the small things anymore.

“In the grand scheme of things, this doesn’t matter”. I say this to myself so often that it is almost routine. When you think about it, does spending your time fretting over something that won’t matter a week, a month or a year from now even worth it?Never.

We shouldn’t expect to be perfect right now, or ever really. We shouldn’t push ourselves to become something we aren’t or cannot be. It’s okay to feel overwhelmed, it’s okay to be confused, it’s okay to not have your shit together because none of us do. The best part about,well, living ┬áis allowing yourself this. Allowing yourself to feel incomplete and messy and dazed and. But only do this occasionally, at some point we have to figure it out. But I definitely plan on taking my time with that part.

Leave a Reply

