Uncategorized

What Was I Waiting For?

I started my blog a while ago, but i’ve only recently actually told people about it. Through Instagram of course.

Anyway, I guess I was nervous about what people would say or think about it but to be honest– it doesn’t matter. I started my blog to practice writing, to talk about my life and honestly just because it was something i’d always kind of wanted to do. So as long as i’m happy with it, i’m happy with me.

I’ve always known I wanted to be a writer. And I’m so grossed out by how cliche that obviously sounds but it’s true. I’ve wrestled with myself for years about choosing a career path that will either ensure success or guarantee happiness. Becoming a writer/ journalist will either work out for the best or I’ll end up poor and sad. But at least that way I’ll be able to say “I attempted to follow my dreams and be happy ” because I know there are millions of people who will never be able to think or say those words.

Every couple of months I tell my family that I’m gonna be a nurse, graphic designer, lawyer or (insert miscellaneous career). And I try to convince myself that I’ll be happy doing either of these but I know that’s not true.

I feel kind of uneasy when complaining about choosing a career path to follow because there are so many people in the world who don’t get to dream the way Americans do. And again I feel uneasy because that’s a huge generalization but it’s also true.

But back to my point, i’ve always wanted to be a writer and I started my blog because of this and I started journaling for the same purpose. So now that i’ve actually told people about it, i’m excited for their feedback and for the future.

4 thoughts on “What Was I Waiting For?”

  1. Well, Cem you surly got my attention. Your blog is interesting it shows that you pay attention to everything and also when I’m reading it I can imagine exactly what your saying…. your imagery is on point. Your going to be a great writer… also Spelman is a excellent college. Cem if I can do it all again I’ll follow your path by knowing what , who , and what I want out of life. My life college wise has been a roller coaster because I was going but I didn’t know exactly what I was going for, I’ve changed my major over 5 times. Finally it clicked and ive decided to do nursing yay…. I’m sticking to it this time…. but I wish you the best with all that you do I know your going to make yourself and your family proud. You always been a bright, smart, intelligent young lady… the sky is the limit and I just know you are going to go beyond the skies… good luck Cemmy…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, Cem we all have different things that we want to do in life,some might not be as glamorous to other. But as you stated you have to do what’s best for you,and what makes you truly happy.i know you going to be the best writer of New York Times.keep God first in all that you do and I promise you better days.I love you past the moon beautiful..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

